The ICC Academy provides recognition to individuals from within the ICC membership who have made significant contributions to the work of the ICC and the furtherance of its aims and ideals, and to the profession of cereal science. The standard award of the Academy is in the form of a Fellowship. Further the ICC Academy may propose candidates for Honorary Presidency and recipients of ICC Medals and Awards.

Clyde H. Bailey Medal

In 1969 the ICC decided to create an award for outstanding achievements in the service of cereal science and technology, which was at the time to commemorate Dr. Clyde H. Bailey (ICC Honorary President 1958-1968), who had died the year before. 

See below for recipients of the Clyde H. Bailey Medal.
  • Prof. Kaisa Poutanen, VTT, Finland (2017)
  • Prof. Dr. Peter R. Shewry, Rothamsted Research, UK (2016)
  • Dr. Colin Wrigley, Australia (2013)
  • Dr. Barry Mc Cleary, Ireland (2008)
  • Prof. Dr. Raimondo Cubadda, Italy (2000)
  • Dr. Pierre Feillet, France (1992)
  • Dr. Werner Saurer, Switzerland (1988)
  • Prof. Dr. Wilfried Seibel, Germany (1982)
  • Prof. DDr. Ing. Radomir Lásztity, Hungary (1982)
  • Prof. Dr. L.A. Trisviatsky, USSR (1978)
  • Prof. Jean Bure, France (1978)
  • Prof. Dr. John A. Shellenberger, USA (1974)
  • Dr. Reinhard Schneeweiss, GDR (1974)
  • Dr. Friedrich Schweitzer, Austria (1970)

Friedrich Schweitzer Medal

In 1989 the ICC Executive Committee decided to create an award to commemorate Dr. Friedrich Schweitzer, who had died in 1984. The Friedrich Schweitzer Medal is normally awarded annually for distinguished service in the furtherance of the aims and ideals of ICC.

See below for recipients of the Friedrich Schweitzer Medal.
  • Dr. Roland E. Poms, Austria (2014)
  • Dr. Anthony B. Blakeney, Australia (2013)
  • Prof. Dr. Friedrich Meuser, Germany (2013)
  • Dr. Fengcheng Wang, China (2012)
  • Dr. Joel Abecassis, France (2012)
  • Dr. Marina Carcea, Italy (2012)
  • Dr. Meinolf G. Lindhauer, Germany (2009)
  • Dr. Concha Collar, Spain (2009)
  • Dr. Martha Cuniberti, Argentina (2008)
  • Dr. Stanley Cauvain, UK (2004)
  • Dr. Helmut Glattes, Austria (2003)
  • Prof. Okkyung Kim Chung, USA (2002)
  • Prof. Zygmunt Ambroziak, Poland (2001)
  • Prof. Vyacheslav A. Butkovsky, Russia (2000)
  • B.Sc. Robert Cracknell, Australia (2000)
  • Prof. Dr. Ferenc Örsi, Hungary (1998)
  • Dr. Vassiliki Pattakou, Greece (1996)
  • Dr. Werner Schäfer, Germany (1995)
  • Drs. Jan Willem van der Kamp, The Netherlands (1994)
  • Dr. David A.V. Dendy, UK (1993)
  • Dr. Pieter S. Steyn, South Africa (1993)
  • Ing. Harald Perten, Switzerland (posthum, 1992)
  • Prof. Dr. Brian Spencer, UK (1990)
  • Prof. DDr. Ing. Radomir Lásztity, Hungary (1990)
  • Dr. Arie H. Bloksma, The Netherlands (1990)

Fellowship of the ICC Academy

Cereal scientists, technologists and other individuals deemed to have made significant contributions to cereal science and the aims and objectives of the ICC can be awarded by appointment as member of the ICC Academy. The Academy may advise ICC on issues relevant for cereal science and technology and may propose candidates for Honorary Presidency and recipients of ICC medals.
  • Prof. Elke Arendt, IE
  • Carmen Benedito de Barber ES
  • Prof. Ke Bian, CN
  • Prof. Fred Brouns, NL
  • Prof. Walter Bushuk, CA
  • Dr. Vlyacheslav Butkovsky, RU
  • Dr. Marina Carcea IT
  • Dr. Stanley Cauvain, UK
  • Prof. Dr. Ravindra Chibbar, CA
  • Prof. Dr. Okkyung Kim Chung, US
  • Prof. Dr. Concha Collar, ES
  • Dr. Christophe Courtin, BE
  • Mr. Bob Cracknell, AU
  • Prof. Raimondo Cubadda, IT
  • Dr. Chem. Eng. Martha Cuniberti, AR
  • Dr. Vladimir Dashevsky, RU
  • Dr. Jan Delcour, BE
  • Dr. Jim Dexter, CA
  • Dr. Floyd Dowell, US
  • Dr. Pierre Feillet, FR
  • Dr. Erich Gebhardt, DE
  • Dr. Pierre Gélinas, CA
  • Dr. Helmut Glattes, AT
  • Dr. Vladimir Kayshev, RU
  • Prof. Dr. Peter Koehler, DE
  • Prof. DDr. Radomir Lásztity, HU
  • Prof. Dr. Meinolf G. Lindhauer, DE
  • Prof. David Lineback, US
  • Dr. Finlay MacRitchie, US
  • Dr. Barry McCleary, IE
  • Dr. Sam Millar, UK
  • Prof. PhD Julie Miller Jones, US
  • Prof. Matthew Morell, PH
  • Prof. Perry K.W. Ng, US
  • Dr. Vassiliki Pattakou, GR
  • Dr. Roberto Javier Peña, MX
  • Prof. Kaisa Poutanen, FI
  • Prof. András Salgó, HU
  • Dr. Peter Shewry, UK
  • Dr. Pieter Steyn, ZA
  • Prof. Dr. John Taylor, ZA
  • Drs. Jan Willem van der Kamp, NL
  • Dr. Phil Williams, CA

Harald Perten Prize

The Harald Perten Prize is rewarded for outstanding achievements in science, research, teaching or transmission of knowledge, which serve cereal sciences and technology. It is primarily recognizing practical applications in the areas of starch, gluten and enzymes. It is presented every second year, even years, in connection with ICC Congresses.

The Prize will be awarded to natural persons irrespective of their nationality. Members of research or working groups may also be considered, as individuals or jointly, but not commercial enterprises. The Prize will be presented in form of a plaque and honorarium of up to USD 5000. The prize was for the first time awarded in 1990 and can be shared.

See below for recipients of the Harald Perten Award.
  • Dr. Stefano Renzetti, The Netherlands (2018)
  • Prof. Hamit Köksel, Turkey (2016)
  • Prof. Alberto Edel León, Argentina (2015)
  • Prof. Jan Delcour, Belgium (2015)
  • Dr. Stephen Delwiche, USA (2013)
  • Prof. Wang Qiang, China (2012)
  • Prof. Hui Sun, China (2012)
  • Dr. Ian Batey, Australia (2010)
  • Dr. Concha Collar, Spain (2008)
  • Dr. Cristina Rosell, Spain (2008)
  • Prof. Kaisa Poutanen, Finland (2007)
  • Dr. Floyd Dowell, USA (2005)
  • Dr. Marina Carcea, Italy (2004)
  • Prof. Dr. András Salgó, Hungary (2002)
  • Dr. Gerold Häberli, Switzerland (2002)
  • Dr. Ferenc Bekes, Australia (2000)
  • Dr. Peter Gras, Australia (2000)
  • Dr. Phil Williams, Canada (2000)
  • Dr. Francisco J. Cejudo, Spain (1999)
  • MS José Antonio Rojas Real, Spain (1999)
  • Dr. Jim Steele, USA (1998)
  • Mr. Charles Martin, USA (1998)
  • Dr. Robert Hamer, The Netherlands (1996)
  • Dr. Jean-Claude Autran, France (1996)
  • Dr. Dorian Weipert, Germany (1995)
  • Prof. Dr. Carl Hoseney, USA (1995)
  • Prof. Dr. Raimondo Cubadda, Italy (1994)
  • Dr. Colin Wrigley, Australia (1994)
  • Prof. Dr. Clarence McDonald, USA (1992)
  • Dipl.Ing. Gerhard Schöggl, Austria (1992)
  • Prof. Dr. Bert D'Appolonia, USA (1990)