ICBC24: Celebrating Best Poster and Best Speaker Awardees

Within the ICBC24, we celebrated Awards of the Best Posters sponsored by Journal of Cereal Science, the Official Journal of ICC and the best young speakers sponsored by Foods and Oniris. Celeste Verbeke and Enni Mannila received the Best Poster Award, while Silvia Cera, Shpresa Musa, Muhammad Yahya, and Alejandra Paola Velásquez Barillas were recognized as the Best Speaker Awardees.

We extend our warmest congratulations to all awardees and wish them continued success in their contributions to cereal science. Thank you for showing your outstanding work at the ICBC24!

ICC Academy Fellowships and Friedrich Schweitzer Medal 2024

The ICC has announced the recipients of its prestigious ICC Academy Fellowships and the Friedrich Schweitzer Medal at the ICBC24.

Dr. Luc Saulnier, Dr. Marta S. Izydorczyk, and Prof. Emanuele Maconi were awarded the ICC Academy Fellowships in recognition of their outstanding contributions to cereal science and technology. The Friedrich Schweitzer Medal, which honors the legacy of one of the ICC's founding figures, was presented to Prof. Peter Shewry and Dr. Valentina Narducci, the current ICC Technical Director.

-Dr. Valentina Narducci was recognized for her exceptional work in cereal and analytical assessments. With over 16 years of experience in cereal research and analytical assessment, Narducci has dedicated her career to this field.

-Prof. Peter Shewry, a renowned cereal scientist, was awarded the Friedrich Schweitzer Medal for his extensive research program at Rothamsted Research and the University of Reading, focusing on improving wheat grain quality for human health. Shewry has authored over 500 peer-reviewed papers and edited around 20 books, making a significant impact on the cereal science community.

The ICC Academy Fellowships were awarded to Dr. Luc Saulnier, a senior research scientist at the Nantes INRAE research center, specializing in cell wall polysaccharides in cereal grains and their techno-functional properties; DrMarta S. Izydorczyk, a research scientist and program manager at the Grain Research Laboratory, Canadian Grain Commission, focusing on the functionality and performance of barley and other grains during processing; and Prof. Emanuele Marconi, the Director of CREA Research Centre for Food and Nutrition in Rome, a prominent figure in cereal science and technology with over 100 peer-reviewed papers.

The awards recognize the outstanding achievements and contributions of these individuals to the field of cereal science and technology, and their dedication to advancing the ICC's mission of promoting research, education, and standardization in the industry.

Celebrating Harald Perten Prize 2024 Awardees

We're proud to present again our 2024 Harald Perten Prize winners: Prof. Bruce Hamaker and Prof. Sergio Serna-Saldivar ✨ The awards have been presented to both awardees at the ICBC24 with honorary speeches from the long-lasting scientific companions Jan-Willem van der Kamp and John Taylor.  They have been handed over by ICC President Bertrand Matthäus, ICC Secretary General Veronika Haslinger and ICBC24 Scientific Chair and Host Luc Saulnier.

🏆 Prof. Bruce Hamaker, who has gained international recognition, is celebrated for his multidisciplinary approach across biology, human nutrition, and food science. He published 322 papers, 21 book chapters is holder of many patents and supervised more than 100 post-graduate and doctoral students. His groundbreaking work focuses on understanding carbohydrate structures and their impact on health, leading to healthier processed foods globally. Bruce Hamaker's work on "precision prebiotics" has shown potential for treating conditions like Parkinson's disease by selectively feeding specific gut microbes. He is a pioneering researcher on fashioning carbohydrates to digest slowly and distally in the gut, improving the viscoelastic properties of corn and sorghum proteins for food products, and providing breakthrough insights on the alignment of dietary fiber structures with beneficial gut bacteria. 

🏆 Prof. Sergio Serna-Saldivar, an globally recognized expert in maize processing, especially in tortilla and taco production, has reshaped our understanding of starch functionality. Prof. Serna-Saldivar has contributed to the improvement of food nutrition and accessibility, particularly in developing regions. Beyond baked goods, his research addresses global nutrition challenges, providing novel solutions to combat malnutrition. His work in the field of cereal science and technology has been recognized with numerous awards, including Mexico's National Science Award, the country's highest honor in science. He is author of 300 scientific papers, holder of 12 patent and intellectual property rights and he has supervised some 100 Masters and Doctoral student graduates His research has had a profound impact on the tortilla industry worldwide.

The Harald Perten Prize, with its chair of the Harald Perten Foundation, Jaan Perten, aims to honor exceptional work in the areas of starch, gluten, and enzymes, with a focus on practical applications. It is presented every 2 years in connection with the ICC Conferences, and to date, 33 recipients have been awarded this prestigious prize.

Both Hamaker and Serna-Saldivar have made significant contributions to cereal science and technology, and their work has had a profound impact on the industry. Congratulations to these well-deserving recipients!

Congratulations to Professor Bruce Hamaker and Professor Sergio Serna-Saldivar on their well-deserved honor!

ICC International Conference: Grains For One Health, 25-28 November 2024, Taipei

The next ICC International Conference will be the „Grains for One Health“ (GFOH) Conference in Taipei from Nov 25-28 November 2024. It focuses on the integral role of grains in promoting One Health, aligning with WHO's approach to harmonize human, animal, and environmental well-being through the supply chain of grains. This event will delve into key topics such as Agriculture Net-Zero, Whole Grain benefits, Functional Components, Health and Nutrition aspects, Innovative Processing techniques, and Safety and Traceability measures through plenary speeches, keynote addresses, and technical presentations.

Attendees including agronomists, food scientists, nutritionists, government officials, and consumers are encouraged to participate in discussions on the current and future implications of One Health in the context of grains, with a special opportunity to explore Taipei's cultural and culinary offerings during the pleasant November season.  

New ICC Initiative on Global Food and Nutrition Security

Recently the new ICC Initiative on Global Food and Nutrition Security was initiated by Martijn Noort (chair), John Taylor, Bruce Hamaker) and Jan Willem van der Kamp.

The  Initiative will be highlighted at ICBC24 with:

on Tuesday, 23 April from 09:00:

  • Plenary keynote lecture by Dr Kevin Miller (Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation): Kevin is looking forward to discussions with attendants and sharing ideas and experiences

on Wednesday, 24 April from 08:30 - 10:00:

  • Global Food and Nutrition Security session, ending with a discussion, on  how to Strengthen ICC’s Science Community for Improving Global Food and Nutrition Security

As organizers of the Initiative, we will highly appreciate when you can complete the form below for indicating your scientific or technological expertise/activities related to Food and Nutrition Security, ICC will use the information to create an internal database of expertise.  The database will not be shared externally.

Please reply HERE before 15 April 2024.


With best regards from the organizers of the Initiative: 

Martijn Noort, Bruce Hamaker, John Taylor, Jan Willem van der Kamp